Obama the Wizard

There’s something about Obama’s pretensions that make one want to mock him. He was, after all, the man who famously said:

“I face this challenge with profound humility and knowledge of my own limitations. But I also face it with limitless faith in the capacity of the American people … . I am absolutely certain that generations from now, we will be able to look back and tell our children that this was the moment when we began to provide care for the sick and good jobs to the jobless; this was the moment when the rise of the oceans began to slow and our planet began to heal … . This was the moment – this was the time – when we came together to remake this great nation.”

The extraordinary pretentiousness of this statement is breathtaking. And yet, he was also capable of saying things that were hilarious in their unintended consequences, for example:

“My friends, we live in the greatest nation in the history of the world. I hope you’ll join with me as we try to change it.”

So here I feel it entirely understandable that some unknown photographer caught him in a pose I am sure he felt was entirely appropriate: that of the Wizard holding the sun in his worthy palms…

Obama with the Sun in his hands

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

